(Before I start this, I must say that I would have given Ramen Matsuri 5-stars so clearly, Pugs and I need to work out this rating system a bit better. Hum.)

Over the weekend, I headed down to Parkway Parade to run some errands and got reminded of a recommendation some Japanese had given me for udon at the food court of Parkway Parade, Maru Ten.

I love udon. I was most excited to eat udon. Especially from a stall recommended by Japs. Must be good, right.

Unfortunately, I was much disappointed (that teaches you to have high expectations).

Because I was there with my parents who don’t eat beef, I ordered cold pork udon. I was most pleased to see that they had cold udon, a meal I used to have at Lau Pa Sat, before they renovated and the udon stall moved away 😦 My colleagues and I used to trudge great distances to LPS to take away the udon.

After a short wait, I was served a bowl of cold udon, with meat that looked suspiciously like beef. However, I decided to give the auntie the benefit of the doubt because she repeated pork to me after I told her my order. She even asked me what soup i wanted, kake or bukkake and when I asked her what the difference was, she barked at me to read the menu. okay. scary auntie.

While I was ordering my food, a lady came to ask for a spoon and the auntie directed her to the tray in front of me, which was empty. The lady and I both tried to tell the auntie that there were no more spoons and the auntie made a halfhearted attempt at reaching into a tray inside the counter and fishing out more chopsticks and then telling us, ‘no more spoons. haven’t washed yet.’ and then she ‘helpfully’ added, i already told them to bring more. Up till the point I finished my food and left, I did not see spoons being added to the tray, although this may be the responsibility of the service staff at Food Republic. But still, you know, auntie, a little more effort and politeness really won’t hurt.

Perhaps because it was after lunch hour, there was hardly any tempura left, and whatever that was left looked extremely unappetising, so I gave the tempura a miss. I went to the side table, added a generous helping of tempura flakes, spring onion, ginger and radish, and then settled down to eat my udon while waiting for my parents to arrive.

One mouthful in and I decided that the meat I was eating was certainly not pork, but beef. I brought the bowl back to the counter and asked the cashier what meat that was. He promptly replied, beef. To which I responded, but i ordered pork. He called over to the auntie, who frowned and proceeded to insist that i ‘ordered beef wat.’ to which i insisted that I did not (plus, if my parents don’t eat beef, I would obviously know that I most certainly did NOT order beef.)

To their credit, the cashier told me to leave the bowl of pork udon there and they would make me a new bowl. The auntie was clearly displeased and disgruntled. After a few minutes, she passed me a bowl of DRY noodles with pork, and sent me on my way. Most confused, I asked her where the soup was, and she gestured at the tank of free flow soup by the side of the cashier. uhm okay. right. By this time, I was too tired to argue with an auntie who was clearly unhappy with life and hates her job, and so I decided that I could fill the bowl with soup on my own. And then the condiments again.


Finally, I had my bowl of pork udon. Unfortunately, the soup tanks only came with HOT soup and so I didn’t get my COLD UDON. I guess it really wasn’t my day.

In all fairness, the udon was not bad. it was nice and bouncy, the soup was quite tasty and the pork was quite tender. Although I must say that I really didn’t enjoy it very much after all that trouble. Next time I want udon, I will just go back to Nex (for which a review shall come shortly).

