Chong Wen Ge is a peranakan-ish cafe along Telok Ayer street – I’ve been meaning to go for a while, and on a recent public holiday after trekking through Pulau Ubin (don’t ask), Pugs and I brought my parents there to check it out. My parents really enjoyed themselves (so if you want to be a filial child without breaking the bank and letting your parents feel like they had an interesting experience… can consider hur.)


The cafe is within this compound and shares its location with a tile museum/gallery.


Behind the blue doors and remodelled sewing machine base tables šŸ™‚


They had a high tea promotion of the kuehs – I don’t remember precisely now :/ but I think it was a two kueh + 1 drink set.. not the best kuehs I’ve had, but good enough to come back for its location and setting.


Because I was hungry (and curious), I also ordered acar bread. This was quite interesting and not bad.


Teh, but mostly, to showcase the peranakan tiles of the cafe in the background.

And after you’re done eating, check out the tile gallery! Some are for sale but otherwise, it’s still a wonder to browse. The collection is quite amazing, and the day we went, the collector (and restorer) himself was around. Cool, eh.

